Lent and nutrition: What changes?

Tempo de Leitura: < 1 minutos

Lent is a 40-day period that begins on Ash Wednesday and ends on The Saturday of Hallelujah, the day before Easter Sunday. During this period the consumption of red meat is restricted and can be returned only after Easter. It is a tradition of Christian origin that aims to increase devotion and remission of sins. But when it comes to Lent and nutrition: What changes?

Lent and nutrition: do I need to replace red meat?

Animal proteins such as assorted fish, chicken and eggs are sources of substitute proteins for red meat, because according to tradition, it should be replaced. Protein sources of animal origin generally offer good protein amounts per section. A 100-gram chicken steak has 27 grams of protein. A tilapia fillet, for example, has 26 grams. The eggs have a slightly smaller amount, being the equivalent of 13 grams of protein in 2 units. These foods are also rich in iron, which is better absorbed when compared to vegetable protein sources.

Proteins of plant origin

Proteins of plant origin can also be included. In addition, they should be prioritized, especially, by those devotees who choose to eliminate animal sources. Some of the food sources of plant proteins are soy, peas, lentils, chickpeas and beans. So also like cereals such as rice and quinoa.

The foods mentioned above, and dark green leafy vegetables, are sources of iron. However, they have a reduced bioavailability. Therefore, for better absorption, it is suggested to intake together with foods sources of vitamin C. As, for example, acerola, lemon and orange.

Study suggestion: Vegetable
or animal protein to gain muscle mass?

Watch the video on Science Play with Felipe Testoni
: Plant Proteins and Bodybuilding

Nos siga nas redes sociais

Mais lidas

Próximos eventos

Artigos relacionados